We need to talk about Kevin . . . (episode 94)

rooster crowing (retro (circle) Image by 'vectorolie' www.freedigitalphotos.net

rooster crowing (retro circle)
Image by ‘vectorolie’
http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

3A Hyde Park Terrace
LONDON W2 5PH

July 6 2000

Hello Mum

I know I have been gone a bit quiet recently, I’m sorry. Sometimes it feels necessary to recoup one’s forces and try to regain a sense of Life’s direction. I seem to be meandering about somehow. Perhaps I have become one of the world’s many dilettantes? A woman of no particular skills . . .

The only recent event of slight note has been my acquaintance, Kimberley’s, request to look after her chickens while she went off on holiday. I met Kimberley while out walking Ferris in Hyde Park and she seemed like a splendidly capacious woman, adorned in any number of brightly-coloured scarves originating from countries all over the planet. I agreed, anyway, to the chicken care – despite knowing that I would have to trek over the park twice a day, owing to the squeeze of traffic pressing on her residence and the fact that her own garage would be locked. No parking of my own Triumph Spitfire Mk IV therefore!

It all seemed fairly straightforward (initially) Mum. Kimberley’s neighbour, Basil, would let the chickens out and all I had to do was feed/water both the chickens and the plethora of hanging baskets suspended above the decking out back. However, there was a slight mention of Kevin (the cockerel) before she departed. The slight mention alluded to the fact that Kevin could play up and that ‘playing up’ would take the form of flying at you – talons bared – and beak agape – in an attempt to drive you away. Barry, Kimberley’s husband, actually demonstrated the grabbing of Kevin – and the whirling about of him above his head – while clutching hold of his feet! And Kimberley informed me that, in the event of difficulty, a stick would be left inside the run for me to use. I certainly didn’t feel up to the whirling of Kevin above my head option . . .

I have to admit, Mum, that I arrived before dusk (at 2150) on the first night and, do you know, chickens do not want to go to bed until the last gasp of light. I stood there, and they stood there, and it was very clear who was in charge and it clearly was not me. Eventually, the lower status chickens cleared off up the ramp and I thankfully dropped a plank against the door of the coop. Kimberley had, of course, been most conscientious in her mention of The Fox. The fox, apparently, lingers – just out of sight – at dusk, waiting to tear apart any unwary chicken who has not gone to bed in time . . .

Guess where Kevin and the Big White Chicken were Mum? Still running around the run, or at least, they were running away from me. Also, Kevin seemed very intent on getting his ‘leg over’ so-to-speak and this caused somewhat of a pang in my own breast, for even a cockerel gets to have more carnal congress than a recently-divorced woman aged 41!

Eventually, however, they did retire to the larger shed at the end of the run and this set up a further set of questions in my mind. I had not been the person to let them out of the coop/s in the morning and so I didn’t have the faintest idea where Kevin and co. laid their beaks to rest at night. Were they usually in the shed? My unease increased when I realized that there appeared to be no means of locking the shed for the night. There wasn’t a bolt or padlock on the door! In the end Mum – and in somewhat of a panic – I wired the door shut and leaned a full watering can, a spade, and a plank against the door as further obstacles to the ingress of The Fox.

I didn’t sleep well at home that night! I had terrible visions of this magnificent cockerel – and the Big White Chicken – being torn to pieces in the jaws of the local chicken predator – and just finding feathers and the remnants of a few limbs and wings scattered around in the dust when I next appeared.

However, the good news Mum, is that I only have to keep them alive for another five days!

Best Love (as always)

Harriet

Leave a Reply

