Glass test tubes . . . (episode 66)

image by 'gameanna' http://freedigitalphotos.net

image by ‘gameanna’
http://freedigitalphotos.net

May 31 1999

3A Hyde Park Terrace
LONDON W2 5ZZ

Dear Mum

It feels like an aeon since I last wrote. I have been very busy acquiring a large collection of glass vessels, and decorative base plates, for my endeavours with flower arranging. And having read my way through a gigantic tome entitled ‘Flowers’ I am now trying out all manner of ideas involving glass test tubes and water melons! Use of the latter object has meant acquiring a spiked metal carving tray (to embed the fruit upon) and I have also been scouring the park/streets for suitable wild flowers to use (the ‘Flowers’ tome appears to favour the ‘artisan’ style of adorning glass with plant material.) I must say that Cow Parsley – in combination with pink False Valerian – has proved to be just the sort of pairing that goes well will the colouration of a water melon! I have also asked the Denizens café if they might be willing to display one or two of my latest confections (free of charge; I am a novice). And they said ‘Yes!’ I haven’t, as yet, taken any round there as – gazing upon the coloured stones adorning two of my base plates – it occurred to me that it would be just my luck if a local infant got one wedged in its trachea and asphyxiated! I am going to have to resort to the use of a double-sided sticky fastener and that may not look too aesthetic.

I am so glad, as I know you will be too, that the Red Rose party – led so toothily by Mr Timothy Bear MP – has expelled the Blue Ribbon party by such a magnificent majority! Perhaps the struggling poor – not to mention the struggling fox – might both now have improved chances of survival. And although it is most delightful that my ex-husband is also an ex- MP, he will (sadly) no longer have the weight of a lead-lined red box to impede his traverses across Hyde Park. I only mention this personage Mum as I unfortunately encountered him in the alley which runs across the end of my terrace. I had hoped that – time having passed – I might have fully recovered from such sightings. However, I did rather find myself yelling, “Get Out Austen. And stay out.”

I think I need a distraction Mum. But whenever I spend time in a bar, at night, dripping with diamond earrings and décolletage, I seem to wind up with the likes of Edgar Hummingway. And in the light of my experiences in the Castro Central Women’s Prison – not so many months ago – I think I’d better confine myself to activities involving glass test tubes and water melons! (For a while at least.) There is certainly no normal-looking, or even faintly-desirable, male here in the Denizens café today.

How did your scans go by the way? Hopefully ‘No Return District General Hospital’ has not kept you in!

Love as ever

Harriet

Leave a Reply

